Home  >  News

Cabinet ministers take oath of office

KUALA LUMPUR, May 16 (Bernama) -- Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin today led ministers and deputy ministers in the swearing-in ceremony before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Halim Shah Mu'adzam at the Istana Negara.

Muhyiddin took the oat of office and allegiance as deputy prime minister and education and higher learning minister I at the ceremony which started at 10.10am.

He later signed the official document of appointment before Chief Justice Tun Arifin Zakaria and the Chief Secretary to the Government Datuk Seri Dr Ali Hamsa.

Also present were Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Hajah Haminah, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and his wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, and former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

This was followed by six senior ministers, namely Datuk Seri G Palanivel (natural resources and environment minister), Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz (tourism and culture minister), Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein (defence minister as well as acting transport minister), Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal (rural and regional development minister), Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed (international trade and industry minister), and Datuk Dr Maximus Johnity Ongkili (energy, green technology and water minister).

Four batches of ministers and deputy minister followed suit.

They were Datuk Seri Douglas Uggah Embas (plantation industries and commodities minister), Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (home minister), Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek (communication and multimedia minister), Datuk Seri S. Subramaniam (health minister), Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob (agriculture and agro-based industry minister), and Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Mohamad Hanadzlah (second finance minister).

This was followed by Datuk Seri Anifah Aman (foreign minister), four ministers in the prime minister's department, namely Datuk Seri Jamil Khir Baharom, Datuk Seri Idris Jala, Tan Sri Joseph Kurup, and Datuk Joseph Entulu Belaun, and Datuk Rohani Abdul Karim (women, family and community development minister).

The other ministers were Datuk Fadillah Yusof (works minister), Datuk Hasan Malek (domestic trade, cooperative and consumerism minister), Datuk Richard Riot Jaem (human resource minister), Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor (federal territories minister), Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh (education and higher learning minister II), and Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim (minister in the prime minister's department).

The last five ministers to be sworn in were Datuk Paul Low Seng Kwan (minister in the prime minister's department), Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar (youth and sports minister), Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan (urban well-being, housing and local government minister), Nancy Shukri (minister in the prime minister's department), and Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin (science, technology and innovation minister).

Twenty-four deputy ministers were also sworn in and received their letters of appointment.

After the ceremony, Cabinet ministers and deputy ministers had a photo session with Tuanku Abdul Halim.



Copyright © 2019 MCIL Multimedia Sdn Bhd (515740-D).
All rights reserved. Contact us : [email protected]