Home  >  News

Soi Lek names appointees, urges members to unite

  • 10040704.jpg

KUALA LUMPUR, April 7 (Bernama) -- Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha leads a list of new appointments to the MCA Central Committee (CC), the powerful decision-making body, as secretary-general.

In making the annoucement after chairing the CC meeting, held for the first time since the March 28 re-election, party president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek urged leaders and members to focus on consolidating the party, after months of in-fighting.

He likened the then-crisis as "water under the bridge."

The meeting today also saw the appointment of new state liaison chairmen and the MCA disciplinary board.

Appointments to the Presidential Council also saw Youth chief Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong and his Wanita counterpart, Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun, re-appointed to the council after being sacked from the body by the former party president in November last year. (Wee and Chew sit in the council by virtue of their positions as wings chiefs).

The deputy secretary-general is Dr Hou Kok Chung, who is also deputy higher education minister.

One of Dr Chua's key man, Datuk Seri Tan Chai Ho, was appointed treasurer-general while his deputy is Datuk Edward Khoo.

Both Tan and Khoo are also state liaison chairmen for Federal Territories and Sabah, respectively. Khoo was also appointed to sit in the CC.

The new national organising chairman is Datuk Tee Siew Kiong while his deputy is Senator Heng Saei Kie, who is also deputy information communication and culture minister.

Eight members were also appointed to the CC under Article 38.11 of the party constitution. Besides Khoo, the others are Deputy Youth chief Datuk Mah Hang Soon, Senator Datuk Dr Yeow Chai Thiam, Senator Khoo Soo Seang, Datuk Koar Kay Huay, Datuk Ei Kim Hock, Datuk Tan Chin Meng and Lau Chiek Tuan.

The new state chairmen are Dr Poh Choo Chor (Perlis), Datuk Chong Itt Chew (Kedah), Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen (Penang and Kelantan), Datuk Donald Lim (Selangor), Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek (Perak and Johor), Dr Yeow (Negeri Sembilan), Datuk Gan Tian Loo (Melaka), Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai (Pahang) and Toh Chin Yaw (Terengganu).

Dr Chua later told reporters that his and Liow's positions in Perak and Pahang, respectively, were also temporary, to stabilise the situation in both states while Dr Ng's appointment in Penang and Kelantan was because leaders in both those states had requested for a leadership from the central party.

For the Presidential Council, apart from the president, deputy president, secretary-general, four vice-presidents, treasurer-general and national organising chairman, eight new members were also appointed.

They are Datuk Lee Chee Leong, Datuk Wee Jeck Seng, Dr Hou, Heng, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan, Chua Tee Yong, Datuk Seri Dr Fong Chan Onn and Loh Seng Kok.

Dr Chua said three community leaders, namely Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia (ACCCIM) president Tan Sri William Cheng, Hua Zhong president Tan Sri Pheng Yin Huah and Malaysian Seven Major Clans Association chairman Datuk Koong Heng Sze, were invited to participate in the Presidential Council meetings.

"They have given an assurance that they would attend meetings held by the Presidential Council, from time to time. We place great importance on their input, especially those on current issues and the economy," he added.

Meanwhile, the five-member disciplinary board will be headed by Tan Sri Michael Chen Wing Sum. His deputy is Datuk Lim Si Cheng.

Dr Chua said the three-hour meeting also discussed current issues which included the Hulu Selangor by-election, Public Services Department (PSD) scholarships and the upcoming Tenth Malaysian Plan (10th MP).

"We have appointed Wee (Ka Siong) to look at, and monitor the PSD issue while Datuk Seri Fong Chan Onn is tasked with getting input on our side for the 10th MP to be submitted to the government for consideration. The report is expected to be completed in two weeks," he added.

He said MCA would also be heading a seminar, "Government Transformation Programme" on April 15 at Wisma MCA.

It is scheduled to be opened by Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Idris Jala.

MySinchew 2010.04.07



Copyright © 2019 MCIL Multimedia Sdn Bhd (515740-D).
All rights reserved. Contact us : [email protected]